Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this document, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this document.



STANDARD CHARTERED PLC

渣打集團有限公司

(Incorporated as a public limited company in England and Wales with registered number 966425) (Stock Code: 02888)

1	Details of the person discharging managerial responsibilities / person closely associated				
a)	Name	José Viñals - shares held through Bankia Banca Privada			
2	Reason for the notification				
a)	Position/status	Chairman designate			
b)	Initial notification /Amendment	Initial			
3	Details of the issuer, emission allowance market participant, auction platform, auctioneer or auction monitor				
a)	Name	Standard Chartered PLC			
b)	LEI	U4LOSYZ7YG4W3S5F2G91			
4	Details of the transaction(s): section to be repeated for (i) each type of instrument; (ii) each type of transaction; (iii) each date; and (iv) each place where transactions have been conducted				
a)	Description of the financial instrument, type of instrument	Ordinary Shares of US\$0.50 each ISIN: GB0004082847			
	Identification code				

b)	Nature of the transaction	Share purchase to satisfy the shareholding qualification requirement for directors as stated in the Company's Articles of Association		
c)	Price(s) and volume(s)	Shares purchased	Price(s) £6.3857	Volume(s) 2,000
d)	Aggregated information - Aggregated volume - Price	2,000 £6.3857		
e)	Date of the transaction	16 November 2016		
f)	Place of the transaction	XLON London Stock Exchange		

As at the date of this announcement, the Board of Directors of Standard Chartered PLC comprises:

Chairman:

Sir John Wilfred Peace (stepping down on 1 December 2016)

Executive Directors: William Thomas Winters and Andrew Nigel Halford

Independent Non-Executive Directors: Om Prakash Bhatt; Dr Kurt Michael Campbell; Dr Louis Chi-Yan Cheung; David Philbrick Conner; Dr Byron Elmer Grote; Dr Han Seung-soo, KBE; Christine Mary Hodgson; Gay Huey Evans, OBE; Naguib Kheraj (Senior Independent Director); José María Viñals Iñiguez (succeeding as Chairman on 1 December 2016) and Jasmine Mary Whitbread