Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this document, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this document.



STANDARD CHARTERED PLC

渣打集團有限公司

(Incorporated as a public limited company in England and Wales with registered number 966425) (Stock Code: 02888)

Grant of Share Options

This announcement is made pursuant to Rule 17.06A of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited.

Standard Chartered PLC (the "Company") announces that on 4 May 2016, deferred shares and restricted shares to acquire 308,154 Ordinary shares of USD0.50 each in the capital of the Company were granted to a person discharging managerial responsibilities under the Company's 2011 Standard Chartered Share Plan (the "2011 Plan") at nil exercise price. No deferred shares and restricted shares were granted under the 2011 Plan to any director of the Company.

On the same day, Long Term Incentive Plan ("LTIP") awards to acquire 1,810,435 Ordinary shares of USD0.50 each in the capital of the Company were granted to persons discharging managerial responsibilities/directors under the Company's 2011 Plan at nil exercise price. Amongst the LTIP awards granted on 4 May 2016, those granted to the directors and chief executive were as follows:

Name of Grantee	Number of shares granted
Bill Winters*	992,781
Andy Halford	592,834

* Group chief executive

The closing market price of the Company's shares on the London Stock Exchange on the date of grant (4 May 2016) was £5.078. Deferred shares vest over a three year period in equal annual installments and restricted shares vest in three annual installments starting in March 2018. LTIP awards vest no earlier than after three years, subject to meeting certain performance conditions.

By Order of the Board Elizabeth Lloyd, CBE Group Company Secretary

Hong Kong, 6 May 2016

As of the date of this announcement, the Board of Directors of Standard Chartered PLC comprises:

Chairman: Sir John Wilfred Peace

Executive Directors: Mr William Thomas Winters, CBE and Mr Andrew Nigel Halford

Independent Non-Executive Directors:

Mr Om Prakash Bhatt; Dr Kurt Michael Campbell; Dr Louis Chi-Yan Cheung; Mr David Philbrick Conner; Dr Byron Elmer Grote; Dr Han Seung-soo, KBE; Mrs Christine Mary Hodgson; Ms Gay Huey Evans, OBE; Mr Naguib Kheraj (Senior Independent Director); Mr Simon Jonathan Lowth and Ms Jasmine Mary Whitbread