Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this document, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this document.



(Incorporated as a public limited company in England and Wales with registered number 966425) (Stock Code: 02888)

1	Details of the person discharging managerial responsibilities / person closely associated				
a)	Name	Ajay Kanwal			
2	Reason for the notification				
a)	Position/status	Regional CEO, ASEAN and South Asia			
b)	Initial notification /Amendment	Initial			
3	Details of the issuer, emission allowance market participant, auction platform, auctioneer or auction monitor				
a)	Name	Standard Chartered PLC			
b)	LEI	U4LOSYZ7YG4W3S5F2G91			
4	Details of the transaction(s): section to be repeated for (i) each type of instrument; (ii) each type of transaction; (iii) each date; and (iv) each place where transactions have been conducted				
a)	Description of the financial instrument, type of instrument	Ordinary Shares of US\$0.50 each			
	Identification code	ISIN: GB0004082847			
b)	Nature of the transaction	Movement of 46,105 shares from a joint account held with Standard Chartered Private Bank to an account held in own name with Malayan Banking Berhad. No purchase/disposal of shares made and no consideration paid.			

c)	Price(s) and volume(s)		D: ()		
			Price(s)	Volume(s)	
			0	0	
d)	Aggregated information	NIA			
	A	N/A			
	Aggregated volumePrice				
	- Price				
e)	Date of the transaction	6 September 2016			
f)	Place of the transaction	XLON London Stock Exchange			

As at the date of this announcement, the Board of Directors of Standard Chartered PLC comprises:

Chairman:

Sir John Wilfred Peace

Executive Directors:

William Thomas Winters and Andrew Nigel Halford

Independent Non-Executive Directors:

Om Prakash Bhatt; Dr Kurt Michael Campbell; Dr Louis Chi-Yan Cheung; David Philbrick Conner; Dr Byron Elmer Grote; Dr Han Seung-soo, KBE; Christine Mary Hodgson; Gay Huey Evans, OBE; Naguib Kheraj (Senior Independent Director) and Jasmine Mary Whitbread